Sunday, April 25, 2010

LAST POST


hello all/ whoever reads this.

I read the whole book this giver this weekend. I also read Ok! magazine, People magazine, and the AMAZING Lindsborg Paper.

I re-read the whole book, the giver, this week and it was a lot different than I remember. I did not like how it went from him recieving the messages, to all of a sudden running away. I think he should have stayed in the town and try to help everyone and fix things.

I also think that the book does a good job of explaining what makes our society important: love, grandparents, color, fun, feelings, emotions, etc.

Although I really liked the book, I think it was also a little jumpy.


The magazines were stolen out of my mother dearest suitcases :) I was bored in the four hour (total) car ride this weekend to lovely pete's puddle for a wedding!


I stayed at my grandparents house, and they always, ALWAYS save all of the Lindsborg papers. I think they think I really do care about Lindsborg. Not that I don't, but, seriously, there is NOTHING important most of the time. I learned that pollen is bad this year. Watch your backs! :)


All in all, I love to read, love spending time reading, but it is hard for me to make time in these last few SUPPPPPER busy weeks.


Anyway, all for now. Toodles. :)

Sunday, April 18, 2010

howdy partner


hey there.

I was thinking about what I have acutally read this week. I think it is very interesting to think about things like reading, because really, lets me honest. We read while we drive, when we order food, when we go shopping, the real question is--> when are we NOT reading?


Anyway. I have continued The Giver this week. It is crazy to read and think about what life would be like if we lived in a community like that....


The EXCITING thing I have read for over a hour this week is research and articles I have been doing for fun. Yes, for fun. I started watching these youtube videos about Anorexia and Bulima. This made me want to read more and more. It was very interesting to see that since the 2000's there are more girls with this disease at younger ages. There was a death of an 8.. yes 8 year old because she quit eating. Since only 10% or less of the population with Anorexia are men, it is easy to categorize this disease as a "girl" disease, but the boys need to be remember as well.


I read a lot of interesting information, and plan to do something with it...

Sunday, April 11, 2010

oh oh, we're half way there, oh oh, living on a prayer.


So even though the year is almost over, I feel like I have SO much left to do. Ugg! So, basically, reading is not what I have been focusing on. I have been trying hard to get my hour and a half, and that's it. I wish I had more time to enjoy reading these days, but I know I will over the summer!
On the way to our tennis meet and back is where I got some of my reading done. I spent an hour or so (the whole trip back and some at work) reading the book I am teaching for SFA. It is called "Understanding the Brain." I wish I was teaching a more-fun book, but oh well I suppose! It is really interesting actually. The way the write the book makes it easier for students to understand and relate to their real lives.


I spent about an hour reading The Giver. When I went and observed in Andover, they were working on that book. The teacher I was watching read the first chapter out loud, and it made me realize how good of book it really is. I read it when I was younger, but didn't full comprehend the story line. After listening to Amber read the first chapter out loud, it really made me want to read more. The book is very strange, but I am sure everyone has read it! I think it is most interesting to think of my own personal Utopia. What would I want? Every time I have an interesting idea, I think of a negative. Maybe that is why I'm not a founding father of a country. :)


On to the next assignment.


Sunday, April 4, 2010

Happy Easter :)

This week was busy, but the weekend was AMAZING!
I went to Jacob's grandparents this weekend. They are apart of a book club, and just got their newest book. It is called "The Bee." Of course, being the nice person I am (HA! :) ) I sat and read some of the book with his grandma. It seemed to be such an interesting book! The back cover normally says what to expect when reading this book, but the back of this book says something to the effect of " I am not going to tell you what this book is about. Read it, and don't tell others about it once you have read!" To some people, that may be a turn off from the book. To me, it made me interested. I only read about fifty pages or so but it seemed very interesting. It is a British book, and the whole first chapter is about how the main character wishes they were a British Pound coin because they could travel and have a great life, and so forth. It was very interesting. It went on to explain more about the main character who is an African girl. I want to read more! Maybe she will let me borrow it later... maybe :)

I read that book for about thirty or so minutes, but we kept stoping and talking, so it took about an hour total.

I read a sweet bird book about Merganser ducks for a few moments. Cool huh? Maybe...

What else did I read this week? Jeeze, I cannot even remember... hmmm....

Oh! I read people for about thirty minutes last night because the bed I was sleeping in was SO comfortable I did not want to sleep. Probably makes no sense, but seriously. So comfortable. Pure amazing-ness bliss.

I have realized something. I LOVE to read and it is hard for me to find time. No wonder kids get so far behind with reading. Even someone who loves to read cannot find much time to read, imagine hating reading. Life is too busy and things such as reading seem to get pushed to the side. Sad, sad, sad.

I would say I read a total of two to three hours this week. Yes, I am a nerd. But think about it, if you read everytime you go to the bathroom, that adds up! haha.. okay. sorry. unnessecary... :) :)


he lives, he lives.....

Tuesday, March 30, 2010

nothing to do with reading.


I just love this picture. So, I thought I would post it :)

Sunday, March 28, 2010

up too early on a weekend!

Hello.
It feels like it has been forever since I have posted anything, its been about two weeks!
I am babysitting in lovely Lindsborg, Kansas. I have been here since about three on Friday. I do not think I have ever seen a bed around eight on a weekend :) I also decided, as much as I love kids, I def. need to finish college and save up lots of money before I have one :P Anyway
On my eighteen hour drive to Arizona, I started a new book. I cannot think of the title at the moment, probably because I am watching a one year old try to use a spoon. :) Anyway. It is one I got from the library and it is about a girl who just broke up with this rich guy but he is trying to win her back. He stands outside her door all day and night until she finally has to go work so she has to talk to him. That is just dumb to me. Why would you wait that long, I mean seriously, she does not want to talk to you obviously! But, she decides to go to a banquet with him because he might lose his job and needs her there, or at least that is what he tells her. I read that book for about an hour until I decided to sleep.

This week I have read about two hours in a teacher devotional book. It is very interesting to read. My grandmother got it for me, so I am trying to read it.

I also have read about thirty minutes Friday, and thirty minutes on Saturday with the seven year old I am babysitting. Also, she is trying to read me this cookbook as she is reading out loud what I am writing. Now she is confused :)

Anyway, that is all. Diaper time :)

Thursday, March 11, 2010

StReSsFuL WeEk


So, I HATE reading things that switch back and forth between fonts. Seriously, is it that hard to use CAPS or lowercase? Why must it be all discombobulated? That is why I made the title the way I did.


Anyway, since that comment has NO relavance to the purpose of this blog, I will let you know about my weekly reading. This week I decided to try and read the news for fifteen minutes everyday. I never realized how DEPRESSING (there are my all caps again) the news is. Why must every news story be depressing? Honestly, reading the news makes me much more stressed than excited. I read the news for about 45 minutes total this week, but it was HARD (ugg I think I am addicted to all caps) to do. I wish news was happier sometimes, why can't we hear about the 90 year old lady who ran a marathon or something? Hopefully without injury, but if she died, that would be in the news for sure.


This week I also read for two hours in my Belarus book because I feel as though I am not learning much in that class. Although the teacher tries, I just cannot focus with her method of teaching. Did you know in Belarus they have Women's Day? On this day, men are expected (they HAVE to basically (ug, caps!)) buy their significant other presents. This day is to promote the appreciation of women who work, clean, and produce children. I like this idea. It is similar to mother's day, but it is for every woman, not just mommies.


Well, I have the pleasure of riding in a car for 18 hours tomorrow! I am taking three books with me, as well as motion sick pills so I can read. Yes, I am that hard core that I have to take medicine to be able to read in the car :) The picture is from my parents house-area. My destination kind of. :)


That is all for now, although I could gladly write for an hour or so about my life and other fun things. I guess that makes me a nerd? Maybe. Who knows.


If you want to learn how to do an authentic Belarusian Dance, I can teach you. I thought I should tell you this because it is something that for sure comes up in every day life. Just saying.


Sunday, March 7, 2010

Mr. Henshaw and Handle with Care... def. not the same types of books, but both good! :)


I started a new book this week. I was in a hurry to find a book for my tennis trip, so I went with one of my favorite authors, Jodi Picooult. I also read Dear Mr. Henshaw.

Dear Mr. Henshaw was a very good book, but different than I remember. When I read it when I was younger, I didnt have the same emotional feelings. I had not yet been through parent stuff, so it was hard for me to comprehend. It made me SO sad when they kept stealing his lunch. BULLIES! I think he should have told the teacher and had a special place to keep his lunch, or something!

Handle with Care is also a good book, so far. I just started it so I havent really gotten into it too much. This book does make me feel smart though, because I got it in hard cover, and it looks HUGE! yes! :)

So yesturday I had a tennis match. We won! But I killed my finger. My whole nail is no longer attached, except for at the bottom, so it KILLS! Makes it hard to type. I am again at the lovely book though, yipee.

I read for about three hours total this week throughout everything, yes I am a total nerd, thanks for asking!

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

finished!


WOW!

I just about got ran over (no joke) because I was in a in-person "nudging" war. Don't ask, but it was intense! I needed to calm down, so I finished my book.


It ended a lot better than I thought it would. It ends up that he has not been cheating on her. The messages that say "I will tell her after our daughter graduates" were not about telling his wife he was leaving her, but that he had struck it big with the book he was writing. Also, the main character goes away with her rich Ex for a night, and controls herself. She is still in love with her husband, regardless of money. (awwwwww) :P


They do seperate for two weeks though, because her husband finds out that she spent the night with her Ex. He then buys her a house that she has always wanted, but she also bought HIM a house that he has always wanted. So cute, yuck! Kind of a sappy story, but good.


This book was a lot like my life, in a way. But, we do not need to get into that side, this blog is about my books, not my life!


This was a really good book, as well as an easy read. It took me about 45 minutes to finish it this evening. I hate finishing books. I feel like I just get into the characters and story, and then its over. Maybe I need to find a longer book or something! I also feel like I should maybe read books with more "worthwhile" supstance, but what is the fun in that. :)

Sunday, February 28, 2010

I had a tennis meet yesturday, so I read for about an hour in the car. Also, I am at work, bored, reading. *Im not acutally lifeguarding when im reading, FYI :) *

Anyway, I just got to the part in the book that the prologue was about. It explains why she got arrested, for dumpster diving, and that she didnt get in trouble because her rich ex-boyfriend paid a lot of money to keep her out of trouble. She then goes to her Ex's house, which she is redecorating. She feels like she shouldnt be there just to talk, but he got her out of going to jail, so she has to be nice and talk to him.

I kind of hope she gets back with her Ex. Her husband has a plan to divorce her in a couple weeks, and I think she still loves her ex. I think that since she has changed her spending ways, though, her husband is going to decide to stay with her. That is my perdiction, and I am excited to see if I am correct! I will probably finish the book over the next five hours here at the pool.

Thursday, February 25, 2010

penny pinchers!

On tuesday night I read for an hour in my new book. The main character finds out her husband is in fact planning on leaving her for his co-worker, but wants to wait until their only daughter graduates high school. The main character then realized that she has NO money, so she needs to save up some before she is a single woman.

I read tonight for an hour as well. She joins a group called the penny pinchers. The group goes through all of her debts, and she realizes that she is deep in debt. She comes up with a plan to cut $500 out of her weekly budget. Her husband is so confused as to why she is doing this, when she has never cared about budgets before.

This is a good book, and I am very curious to see how it ends. I plan on reading a lot of sunday when I am at the lovely pool again for 8 hours!

Sunday, February 21, 2010

new book!

Seriously, I do not think anyone understands how boring it is to be a lifeguard...at an INDOOR pool. I always liked lifeguarding, but mainly because of the sun, and being outside. UG! A positive to being so bored at work, though, is plenty of reading time.

I started a new book, I honestly just picked because it has piggy banks on the cover. I collect piggy banks, because I grew up on a pig farm, and I LOVE pigs. :)

Anyway, the book is titled, Penny Pinchers Club. I have read about two hours today. It is a really interesting book, actually. It talks about a woman who was almost engaged to a rich man, whose family was compared to the Kennedy's. Then, one day, she meets a gardener who she instantly falls in love with. Her rich boyfriend is about to propose, and she says if he would have done it just a few weeks earlier, she would have said yes. Anyway, she falls in love with the poor gardener. The prolouge is about her being in jail though, for going through people's trash to find things that are valuable. Also, it says she is going to be getting divorced. I have not read enough to where the prolouge makes sense, so I am interested to see what happens!

I have to go back on the stand shortly, which means I cannot read or be on the computer, so I probably should stop typing.

I think that this is going to be a really good book, full of drama, not much substance. I will read for another hour today while on break at work, and I will update what I read in my next post!

Sunday, February 14, 2010

VALENTINES DAY


Happy Valentines Day!
I just got the biggest bear I have ever seen :) so excited! Kind of funny, I filled Jacob's car with 50 balloons, then 15 or so different red things, such as a basketball (we needed one!), soap (he is too lazy to buy it) candy, candy, candy! Food, Pop, all sorts of stuff. Then I cleaned his car, which ws sooo dirty! I vaccumed it and everything...BUT he one-uped me. He hardcore cleaned my room, and showered me with gifts. Wow, I sound like I am bragging, I am not trying to, just excited :)


Anyway, reading..


I finished my book this week. I would NOT recommend it. It made me so mad because it built up this big long story of the main character being married, but she ran away from him because he beat her, then she fell in love with two men who happened to be best friends, but one was married, and so on and so on. Then it just came to a quick end, kind of like those movies that just----stop. So annoying to me! There was drama, but it was quick and painless, not real world at all. I read about an hour to finish my book. I got a new book from the library, and I am excited to get deeper into it. I then started reading a book my mom sent me, but I am not that far.


For me, it is not hard to read two hours a week, it is harder to remember what I read this week compared to the last!


Well, it is 2:23 AM, probably should hit the sack! Too excited to sleep, but I will try!


Sunday, February 7, 2010

cant sleep..

yes, it is 4 am. This either makes me: hardcore, total loser, or really dumb. :) Anyway, I just read for an hour. This book is so dramatic, but of course now I need to know what happens. I do NOT recommend it though. Today Cameron's husband she ran from started stalking her, not cool! He beat her and so she ran away, and started a new life. Im sure this is what I am going to have dreams about, joy!

Also during the week I read for an hour at the ER, (kidney issues :S ) and an hour at the doctor's office. I had good quality waiting room time this week!

I do not know what I am going to read next. I kind of want a biography... any suggestions?

Sunday, January 31, 2010

So I am on page about 300 of Married Lovers. Yes, it is about as trashy as the title is, but it is now addictive! It has such an interesting storyline, I just cannot stop! I read for about three hours off and on throughout the week. This week in the book, I read about Anya, a girl who lived in Poland, and was taken to be an escort. So, Ryan is married to Mandy. They no longer get along, but he really does not want to divorce because, well, it's a divorce. A few chapters later I found out that Ryan pays a lot of money to save Anya, and bring her to America.

I enjoy this book because there are so many different story lines going on, and also many different characters. I know it is not the best book to read, but it is a fun read!

I am looking for a great book to start here in a week or so... any suggestions?!

Monday, January 25, 2010

New Book

I started a new book this week. It is titled Married Lovers. Basically, it was the biggest book in the "popular"section, so it seemed interesting to me! It is an interesting book, but it very... graphic? Maybe that is the word for it. This story is addictive so I want to know what is going to happen, but I do not like the nasty parts.

I think that this book is going to be good, but we will see!

Saturday, January 16, 2010

first try at this thing...

So, I have never realized how hard it is to actually come up with a catchy name. This will work for now I suppose! :)