Sunday, April 25, 2010

LAST POST


hello all/ whoever reads this.

I read the whole book this giver this weekend. I also read Ok! magazine, People magazine, and the AMAZING Lindsborg Paper.

I re-read the whole book, the giver, this week and it was a lot different than I remember. I did not like how it went from him recieving the messages, to all of a sudden running away. I think he should have stayed in the town and try to help everyone and fix things.

I also think that the book does a good job of explaining what makes our society important: love, grandparents, color, fun, feelings, emotions, etc.

Although I really liked the book, I think it was also a little jumpy.


The magazines were stolen out of my mother dearest suitcases :) I was bored in the four hour (total) car ride this weekend to lovely pete's puddle for a wedding!


I stayed at my grandparents house, and they always, ALWAYS save all of the Lindsborg papers. I think they think I really do care about Lindsborg. Not that I don't, but, seriously, there is NOTHING important most of the time. I learned that pollen is bad this year. Watch your backs! :)


All in all, I love to read, love spending time reading, but it is hard for me to make time in these last few SUPPPPPER busy weeks.


Anyway, all for now. Toodles. :)

Sunday, April 18, 2010

howdy partner


hey there.

I was thinking about what I have acutally read this week. I think it is very interesting to think about things like reading, because really, lets me honest. We read while we drive, when we order food, when we go shopping, the real question is--> when are we NOT reading?


Anyway. I have continued The Giver this week. It is crazy to read and think about what life would be like if we lived in a community like that....


The EXCITING thing I have read for over a hour this week is research and articles I have been doing for fun. Yes, for fun. I started watching these youtube videos about Anorexia and Bulima. This made me want to read more and more. It was very interesting to see that since the 2000's there are more girls with this disease at younger ages. There was a death of an 8.. yes 8 year old because she quit eating. Since only 10% or less of the population with Anorexia are men, it is easy to categorize this disease as a "girl" disease, but the boys need to be remember as well.


I read a lot of interesting information, and plan to do something with it...

Sunday, April 11, 2010

oh oh, we're half way there, oh oh, living on a prayer.


So even though the year is almost over, I feel like I have SO much left to do. Ugg! So, basically, reading is not what I have been focusing on. I have been trying hard to get my hour and a half, and that's it. I wish I had more time to enjoy reading these days, but I know I will over the summer!
On the way to our tennis meet and back is where I got some of my reading done. I spent an hour or so (the whole trip back and some at work) reading the book I am teaching for SFA. It is called "Understanding the Brain." I wish I was teaching a more-fun book, but oh well I suppose! It is really interesting actually. The way the write the book makes it easier for students to understand and relate to their real lives.


I spent about an hour reading The Giver. When I went and observed in Andover, they were working on that book. The teacher I was watching read the first chapter out loud, and it made me realize how good of book it really is. I read it when I was younger, but didn't full comprehend the story line. After listening to Amber read the first chapter out loud, it really made me want to read more. The book is very strange, but I am sure everyone has read it! I think it is most interesting to think of my own personal Utopia. What would I want? Every time I have an interesting idea, I think of a negative. Maybe that is why I'm not a founding father of a country. :)


On to the next assignment.


Sunday, April 4, 2010

Happy Easter :)

This week was busy, but the weekend was AMAZING!
I went to Jacob's grandparents this weekend. They are apart of a book club, and just got their newest book. It is called "The Bee." Of course, being the nice person I am (HA! :) ) I sat and read some of the book with his grandma. It seemed to be such an interesting book! The back cover normally says what to expect when reading this book, but the back of this book says something to the effect of " I am not going to tell you what this book is about. Read it, and don't tell others about it once you have read!" To some people, that may be a turn off from the book. To me, it made me interested. I only read about fifty pages or so but it seemed very interesting. It is a British book, and the whole first chapter is about how the main character wishes they were a British Pound coin because they could travel and have a great life, and so forth. It was very interesting. It went on to explain more about the main character who is an African girl. I want to read more! Maybe she will let me borrow it later... maybe :)

I read that book for about thirty or so minutes, but we kept stoping and talking, so it took about an hour total.

I read a sweet bird book about Merganser ducks for a few moments. Cool huh? Maybe...

What else did I read this week? Jeeze, I cannot even remember... hmmm....

Oh! I read people for about thirty minutes last night because the bed I was sleeping in was SO comfortable I did not want to sleep. Probably makes no sense, but seriously. So comfortable. Pure amazing-ness bliss.

I have realized something. I LOVE to read and it is hard for me to find time. No wonder kids get so far behind with reading. Even someone who loves to read cannot find much time to read, imagine hating reading. Life is too busy and things such as reading seem to get pushed to the side. Sad, sad, sad.

I would say I read a total of two to three hours this week. Yes, I am a nerd. But think about it, if you read everytime you go to the bathroom, that adds up! haha.. okay. sorry. unnessecary... :) :)


he lives, he lives.....

Tuesday, March 30, 2010

nothing to do with reading.


I just love this picture. So, I thought I would post it :)

Sunday, March 28, 2010

up too early on a weekend!

Hello.
It feels like it has been forever since I have posted anything, its been about two weeks!
I am babysitting in lovely Lindsborg, Kansas. I have been here since about three on Friday. I do not think I have ever seen a bed around eight on a weekend :) I also decided, as much as I love kids, I def. need to finish college and save up lots of money before I have one :P Anyway
On my eighteen hour drive to Arizona, I started a new book. I cannot think of the title at the moment, probably because I am watching a one year old try to use a spoon. :) Anyway. It is one I got from the library and it is about a girl who just broke up with this rich guy but he is trying to win her back. He stands outside her door all day and night until she finally has to go work so she has to talk to him. That is just dumb to me. Why would you wait that long, I mean seriously, she does not want to talk to you obviously! But, she decides to go to a banquet with him because he might lose his job and needs her there, or at least that is what he tells her. I read that book for about an hour until I decided to sleep.

This week I have read about two hours in a teacher devotional book. It is very interesting to read. My grandmother got it for me, so I am trying to read it.

I also have read about thirty minutes Friday, and thirty minutes on Saturday with the seven year old I am babysitting. Also, she is trying to read me this cookbook as she is reading out loud what I am writing. Now she is confused :)

Anyway, that is all. Diaper time :)

Thursday, March 11, 2010

StReSsFuL WeEk


So, I HATE reading things that switch back and forth between fonts. Seriously, is it that hard to use CAPS or lowercase? Why must it be all discombobulated? That is why I made the title the way I did.


Anyway, since that comment has NO relavance to the purpose of this blog, I will let you know about my weekly reading. This week I decided to try and read the news for fifteen minutes everyday. I never realized how DEPRESSING (there are my all caps again) the news is. Why must every news story be depressing? Honestly, reading the news makes me much more stressed than excited. I read the news for about 45 minutes total this week, but it was HARD (ugg I think I am addicted to all caps) to do. I wish news was happier sometimes, why can't we hear about the 90 year old lady who ran a marathon or something? Hopefully without injury, but if she died, that would be in the news for sure.


This week I also read for two hours in my Belarus book because I feel as though I am not learning much in that class. Although the teacher tries, I just cannot focus with her method of teaching. Did you know in Belarus they have Women's Day? On this day, men are expected (they HAVE to basically (ug, caps!)) buy their significant other presents. This day is to promote the appreciation of women who work, clean, and produce children. I like this idea. It is similar to mother's day, but it is for every woman, not just mommies.


Well, I have the pleasure of riding in a car for 18 hours tomorrow! I am taking three books with me, as well as motion sick pills so I can read. Yes, I am that hard core that I have to take medicine to be able to read in the car :) The picture is from my parents house-area. My destination kind of. :)


That is all for now, although I could gladly write for an hour or so about my life and other fun things. I guess that makes me a nerd? Maybe. Who knows.


If you want to learn how to do an authentic Belarusian Dance, I can teach you. I thought I should tell you this because it is something that for sure comes up in every day life. Just saying.